You are here

SPARK Lifetime Achievement Award

The College of the Arts SPARK Lifetime Achievement Award honors alumni and members of the community who have made great strides to advance the arts in Louisiana and across the country.

Past SPARK Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are:

Nick Spitzer (2016)
Nick Spitzer is the producer and host of the radio program American Routes and is a folklorist and professor of anthropology and American studies at Tulane University. For his magisterial dissertation on zydeco music and Creole Mardi Gras at the University of Texas, he worked extensively with legends of Creole music in Acadiana.

Edward J. Cazayoux, FAIA (2015)
‘Eddie’ Cazayoux is a renowned architect, environmental activist, and educator.  His research and design work focusing on sustainable architecture and historic preservation has been recognized locally, nationally, and internationally innumerable times over his four-decade long professional career.

Keith Sonnier (2014)
Keith Sonnier is an internationally acclaimed performance, video and light artist. His experimental and influential work is collected, shown, and installed internationally.

Richard ‘Dickie’Landry (2014)
Richard ‘Dickie’ Landry is an internationally acclaimed saxophonist, composer, and artist. His piece, “Mass for Pentecost Sunday”, has been performed internationally. He is a founding member of the Philip Glass Ensemble and has collaborated with major musicians and artists.

Ray McIntyre (2013)

Joe Stewart (2012)

Michael Doucet avec BeauSoleil (2011)

A. Hays Town (2010)

George Rodrigue (2009)

Elmore Morgan, Jr. (2008)