You are here

College of the Arts announces its Spring 2010 Dean's Scholars

Top Stories

The College of the Arts recently announced its spring 2010 Dean’s Scholars. They were chosen from each of the four departments within the College of the Arts.  This semester’s scholars are: David Huynh, Department of Performing Arts; Desiree Johnson, School of Architecture and Design; Andrew Smith, School of Music; and Thomas Deaton, Department of Visual Arts.  Each of the scholars have outstanding records and they have each exhibited dedication to the college as well as to his or her art form.  Each of the students received a $1,000 scholarship from funds raised by the Dean’s Advisory Council and the College of the Art’s annual SPARK fundraiser.

David Huynh is a theater major with a concentration in acting.  He was chosen for the Excellence in Ensemble Acting on a state level at the KCACTF Theater Festival in New Orleans in fall 2009.  He also was chosen for Excellence in Performance on a regional level in Amarillo, TX in spring 2010.  His parents are Son and Kim Huynh.

Desiree Johnson is an interior design major.  In 2009 she was given the Design Excellence Award.  Even with a busy schedule, Desiree manages to maintain a 3.8 GPA.  Her parents are Kent and Lori Johnson.

Andrew Smith is a music media and music composition double major.  During 2009 he was awarded the Fundraiser Bronze Telly Award for his work on the BeauSoleil Home Promotional Video, and was also nominated Best Horror Feature Film at the Great Lakes Independent Film Festival for his film score for the movie The Inherited.  He was also given the Theodore Presser Scholarship.  In 2010 Andrew was accepted into the Film Scoring Program at the Aspen Summer Music Festival.   His parents are Graham and Donna Smith.

Thomas Deaton is a printmaking major in the Department of Visual Arts.  He was awarded the Dr. Ben and Clare Roy Thibodeaux Foundation Scholarship during the spring 2010 semester.  His parents are Lewis and Ellen Deaton.