You are here

Year of Visual Achievements in Department of Visual Arts

Top Stories

2009-2010 Achievements from the Department of Visual Arts:

Prof. Brian Kelly was named a Distinguished Professor based upon his extraordinary creative output, development of the printmaking program, and leadership. Prof. Lynda Frese was awarded a grant from the Awards To Louisiana Artists and Scholars (ATLAS) Program for an international publishing project, PachaMama, exploring overlapping ideas about the apocalypse, rebirth and the natural world.

Profs. Jeff Lush, Kevin Hagan, Jamie Baldridge, Adjunct Prof. James Tancill, and twelve graphic design students received a total of eight silver and six gold Addy Awards from the District competition of the American Advertising Federation. Lush and Tancill continued in the Addy competition and received a joint national award in May, 2010.

Profs. Chad Aldridge, John Gargano, Aimee Howard and students teamed up for intercollaborative demonstrations of 3-D Arts during the College’s Festival of the Arts. Prof. Aimee Howard was commissioned by UL Lafayette President E. Joseph Savoie to create a new presidential medallion for formal academic occasions.

Prof. Chyrl Savoy (Head of Visual Arts, August, 2009) won ‘Best of Show’ at the 1st Marjorie Morrison Sculpture Biennial (Hammond). Other works were exhibited globally by: Prof. Brian Kelly (Canada, U.S.); Prof. Alan Jones (Canada); Prof. Scot Sinclair (Great Britain); Prof. Jamie Baldridge (Netherlands, Spain); Prof. David Dubose (Spain, New Orleans); Prof. Kevin Hagan (Peru, Bolivia); Prof. Steve Breaux (Canada); Prof. John Hathorn (Dallas); Prof. David Webber (New Orleans); Prof. Aimee Howard (Lawrence KS); Prof. John Gargano (Lubbock TX); Prof. Lestat Alexander (Laredo TX); Prof. Yeon Choi (Los Angeles).